A B C D E F J L M P Q R S T W 

ECTS – European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System

ECTS is a credit framework which values, measures, describes and compares learning achievement. Credits are "a quantified means of expressing the volume of learning based on the achievement of ↑learning outcomes and their associated ↑workload"[1]. In ECTS, one academic year of full-time study corresponds to 60 credits, a semester to 30 and a term to 20.[2] In the Bologna Declaration (1999), ECTS is seen as "a proper means of promoting […] widespread student ↑mobility"[3]. ECTS was initiated in 1989 as a credit transfer system but is now developing as a system for credit accumulation as well as for transfer (↑transfer and accumulation of credits).[4] ECTS is increasingly becoming a generalised basis for the national credit systems.[5] In addition, ECTS includes a grading system (↑ECTS Grading System). For higher education institutions it is possible to apply for a so-called ECTS Label. This Label is awarded to institutions that are able to demonstrate that they meet the following criteria: -  apply ECTS credits correctly in all degree programmes offered; -  make accessible, through its website an ECTS Course Catalogue (↑ECTS Information Package/Course Catalogue) in the local language of instruction and in English (or only in English for programmes taught in English); -  use all other obligatory ECTS tools (for example ↑ECTS Learning Agreements, ↑ECTS Transcripts of Records, proof of ↑recognition) properly for Erasmus mobility.[6] So far, 14 institutions have been awarded the ECTS Label.[7]
Related terms:
↑Qualifications framework

[1] Qualifications, p. 44.

[2] Qualifications, p. 46.

[3] Bologna, p. 3.

[4] Qualifications, p. 70.

[5] Berlin, p. 4.

© Ost-West-Wissenschaftszentrum