A B C D E F J L M P Q R S T W 

Diploma Supplement

The Diploma Supplement is a document "designed to provide a description of the nature, level, context, content and status of the studies that were successfully completed by the individual named on the original qualification to which this supplement is appended".[1] It is attached to describe a higher education degree in a Europe-wide standardised structure and comprises a preamble and eight core elements: -  Holder of the qualification (name, date of birth, etc.); -  Qualification (name of qualification, main field(s) of study, etc.); -  Level of the qualification (first or second degree, length of programme, etc.); -  Contents and results gained (mode of study, programme requirements, etc.); -  Function of the qualification (access to further study, professional status); -  Additional information (about the graduate and/or the programme); -  Certification (additional original documents are named); -  National higher education system (types of institutions, types of programmes and degrees awarded, etc.). All these elements must be filled in. If there is a blank in any box, there must be an explanation as to why the information is not given. The description of the national higher education system is provided by the National Academic Recognition Information Centres (↑ENIC Network/NARIC Network) and is available on the website: http://www.enic-naric.net. In the Berlin Communiqué (2003) it was stated that from 2005 onwards all graduates should receive a Diploma Supplement in a widely spoken European language (English, French, Italian, German or Spanish), automatically and free of charge.[2] The purpose is to improve international transparency and to facilitate fair academic and professional ↑recognition of qualifications (diplomas, degrees, certificates, etc.). The Diploma Supplement should be free from any value-judgements, equivalence statements or suggestions about recognition.[3]
Related terms:
↑ECTS – European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System; ↑Mobility

[2] Cf. Berlin, p. 5.

© Ost-West-Wissenschaftszentrum